Home International Seapower Symposium NHH Symposium

European Symposium on Algorithms

London Economics Symposium

Man the Hunter

Pacific Symposium on Biocomputing

Aarhus Symposium

International Symposium on Distributed Computing

RuleML Symposium

IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society (sometimes abbreviated Computer Society or CS) is a professional society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Its purpose and scope is "to advance the theory, practice, and application of computer and information processing science and technology" and the "professional standing of its members." The CS is the largest of 39 technical societies organized under the IEEE Technical Activities Board.

The IEEE Computer Society is also a member organization of the Federation of Enterprise Architecture Professional Organizations (a worldwide association of professional organizations which have come together to provide a forum to standardize, professionalize, and otherwise advance the discipline of Enterprise Architecture).

The IEEE Computer Society traces its origins to the Subcommittee on Large-Scale Computing, established in 1946 by the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (AIEE), and to the Professional Group on Electronic Computers (PGEC), established in 1951 by the Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE). When the AIEE merged with the IRE in 1963 to form the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), these two committees became the IEEE Computer Group. The group established its own constitution and bylaws in 1971 to become the IEEE Computer Society.

The IEEE Computer Society participates in ongoing development of college computing curricula, jointly with the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Other educational activities include software development certification programs and online access to e-learning courseware and books.

The Computer Society Digital Library (CSDL) is the crown jewel of the Computer Society's digital assets and provides subscriber access to all CS publications, as well as conference proceedings and other papers, amounting to more than 750,000 pieces of content.

The IEEE Computer Society also maintains 12 standards committees to develop IEEE standards in various areas of computer and software engineering (e.g., the Design Automation Standards Committee and the IEEE 802 LAN/MAN Standards Committee).

In 2010, the IEEE Computer Society introduced Special Technical Communities (STCs) as a new way for members to develop communities focusing on selected technical areas. Current topics include broadening participation, cloud computing, education, eGov, haptics, multicore, operating systems, smart grids, social networking, sustainable computing, systems engineering, and wearable and ubiquitous technologies.

The IEEE Computer Society recognizes outstanding work by computer professionals who advance the field in three areas of achievement: Technical Awards (e.g., the IEEE Computer Pioneer Award or the W. Wallace McDowell Award), Education Awards (e.g., Taylor L. Booth Education Award), and Service Awards (e.g., Richard E. Merwin Distinguished Service Award).

In 2018, the organization won First Place in the Los Angeles Press Club’s annual Southern California Journalism Awards for "Untold Stories: Setting the Record Straight on Tech's Racial History," by digital editor Michael Martinez and senior writer Lori Cameron, in the minority/immigration reporting online category. The awards saw record entries from around the world in 2018 from the biggest publishing, broadcasting, online, and media outlets.